top of page

It's All in the Smiles

Its official, 72.4 kilometres of the Calgary pathways and sidewalks have been Kilometre Bombed! What an adventure. It is hard to imagine we are already here.


When I started on this adventure, I wasn't sure how it would be received. The reactions that I have received have not disappointed but only encouraged me to keep going!


Complete strangers try to keep a straight face as they pass by. I see their lips burst into a smile for a perfect lead up to a friendly "Good Morning"! Some people cheer us on, we even met a Kidney donor along the way. It is those reactions that make this experience worth every step!


The other part of this is encouraging the Kidney March Community in their 2020 Kidney March. By walking on our pathways I hope to encounter fellow marchers and give them a bomb to keep going.


I wasn't disappointed on a peaceful Sunday morning walking through Bowness Park when I found Raakhe (Rocky) and Mahjabeen proudly wearing their Kidney March shirts wile Kidney Marching. That was where they got Kilometre Bombed and cheered off to a great walk.

....Of course we all love a good photo opp as well.



We made each others day was what I thought after we parted ways.


As I continued to walk to downtown on that 22 Kilometre bomb we ran into Tony who was also at the Memorial Walk just a few weeks ago. As we passed by each other I noticed his smile. BOOOMMM! Keep on Walking Tony!


I also had the pleasure of Bombing Team Philmor on their Kidney March. A beautiful evening sunshine set the stage for a successful Kilometre Bomb! Not everyone knew the Kilometre Bomber was coming. I surprised them with a cheer and some noise. We put on tattoos shared a laugh and lots of smiles.


Team Philmor is walking in all different areas around Calgary to raise awareness for Kidney March. GO TEAM!







Keep Smiling!


22 Kilometre route was from Bowness Park through to Downtown. We took the C-Train home from the Bridgeland Memorial. Strava counted that as a walk making it seem like a 36 kilometre walk. We had fun!



See my fundraising page, Sponsor Me!

https://kidney.akaraisin.com/KidneyMarch2020/kmbomber

bottom of page